Under the 6 (1994)


Jump to complete album lyrics.
Or, go back up to the Non-Core/Non-Funk album list.

Track Listing:

Godless {Islam Shabazz}  4:25
Heal {I Shabazz, Bill McKinney}  2:46
Dammnation {I Shabazz, B McKinney}  2:30
Come Out {Islam Shabazz, B McKinney}  4:58
Day of Requital {I Shabazz}  2:55
Final Call {I Shabazz, B McKinney}  2:38
Walk The Water {I Shabazz, B McKinney}  3:38
Down {I Shabazz, B McKinney}  5:28
Each One Teach One {I Shabazz, B McKinney}  5:28
Freedom {I Shabazz, B McKinney}  5:42


Producer: Bill Laswell
Vocals: Islam Shabazz, Gary "Mudbone" Cooper
Background Vocals: Bill McKinney
Bass: Islam Shabazz
Guitar: Bill McKinney, Michael Hampton 
Drums: Mackie

Rating: RC: **1/2


TK: This album was originally released in 1993 in Japan.

RC: A repetitive, earspliting guitar assault that definitely has its moments, but is eventually undone by its lack of variety. Michael Hampton has his flashes of brilliance, but too often he's locked into jackhammer riffs. Fans of thrash metal or Motorhead would probably appreciate this album most. I love to hear Michael simply wail as much as the next person, but I also appreciate his sense of taste and timing, two things he doesn't get to demonstrate much on here.

The best songs are "Godless", with hard-churning chords ending up with a good solo from Hampton and noticeable background vocals from Mudbone; "Damnation", sort of a Ramones-ish rocker railing against the US; and "Come Out" a hip-hop/hardcore update on the gospels; and "Walk The Water", with a greater emphasis on vocals.

The album is in print and should be fairly easy to find.